The Republican side of the ballot features five races for county-wide offices and two for state representative.

The Democratic side is far more quiet.

Filing for the May primary election came to a close Monday with the lineup of races featuring contests for the Republican nominations for Jay County Commissioner and Jay County Sheriff.

Chad Aker, who currently serves as commissioners president, is facing a primary challenge as he seeks a second term. He will square off against former Jay School Board member Bryan Alexander for the GOP nomination.

Joel Bowers was the lone Democrat to file to run for the commissioners seat.

The Republican side of the ballot features a three-way race for the nomination for sheriff. Former two-term sheriff Ray Newton and longtime sheriff’s office employees Tony Lennartz and Patrick Wells are all vying for a chance to replace Dwane Ford, who can’t seek re-election because of term limits.

Democrat “Watermellon” Jim Phillips on Monday filed to seek the Democratic nomination for sheriff after withdrawing his candidacy for Redkey Town Council.

Other contested races at the county level are all on the Republican side:

Auditor — Emily Franks against Kristi Morningstar

Recorder — Melanie Upp against Becky Hesher

County council (District 1) — Brenda Beaty against Randy May

Anna Culy (auditor) and Betty St. Myers (recorder) could not seek re-election because of term limits. Democrat Ted Champ, the incumbent council member in District 1, is uncontested for his party’s nomination for the seat.

Both state representatives who represent part of Jay County are facing primary challenges.

Republican J.D. Prescott, Union City, who represents the southern two-thirds of the county in District 33, will have a rematch from the 2020 primary against Brittany Kloer of Portland. Republican Matt Lehman, who now represents the northern third of the county, faces a challenge from Russ Mounsey for the District 79 seat.

John Bartlett of Hartford City was the lone Democrat to file to run for state representative in District 33. No Democrats filed to run in District 79.

Republican Travis Holdman is uncontested for the nomination for state senator in District 19. No Democrats filed to run in the primary.

Three Republicans — former council member Dave Dudelston, Chance Retter and Floyd Life — filed to run for two nominations for at-large seats on Redkey Town council. Incumbent Dottie Quakenbush is the only candidate on the Democrat side of the ballot after Phillips’ withdrawal. (May, the other incumbent, chose not to run for re-election in favor of trying for a seat on Jay County Council.)

Candidates for nominations for Pennville Town council at Republicans Alicia Corwin and Branda Manns and Democrat Millie Ellis.

Uncontested candidates for their party’s nomination for county-wide office are Democrat Joel Bowers for Democrat incumbent Wes Schemenaur of prosecutor, Republican incumbent Robin Alberson for assessor, Democrat incumbent Ted Champ for Jay County Council (District 1), Republican incumbent Harold Towell for county council (District 2), Democrat Kelly Stipp for county council (District 2), Republican incumbent Faron Parr for county council (District 3) and Republican Cindy Bracy for county council (District 4).

All township trustee candidates are uncontested. They are: Republicans James Brewster (Wayne), Angela Moeller (Jefferson), Steven Cash (Penn), Virginia Cline (Noble), Rex Pinkerton (Jackson), Jason Rosenbeck (Wabash), Jenny Cline-Wagner (Knox) and Scott Hilfiker (Madison), and Democrats Nancy Cline (Greene), David Champ (Richland) and Crystal Laux (Bearcreek).

Township advisory board candidates are as follows:

Republicans — Tammy Horn, Scott Coy and Jeff Alberson in Pike, Kathy Mosser; Matt Caster and Terry Rigby in Jackson; Janet Confer in Jefferson, Ronald Paxson in Penn; Dennis Rodgers and Joelle Rinker in Knox; Jeff Overholser, Emily Daugherty and Eldon Campbell in Noble; Greg Shreeve in Madison; and Carrie Shaneyfelt, Michelle Jones, Michael Shreeve and Phillip Zarate in Salamonia.

Democrats — Richard Nixon in Jefferson; Robert Bailey, Alvin Cassel, Don Whitenack and Billy Bailey in Greene; Gary Glogas and Joseph Lloyd in Richland; and Shelli Rigsbee and James Haffner in Bearcreek.

Candidates for Democratic precinct committeeman are Brett Darby (Wayne 1), Bart Darby (Wayne 2), Nancy Cline (Greene), James Phillips (Redkey) and Fred Bailey (Wayne 7).

Running for Republican state convention delegate are Jenae Blasdel, Jon Eads, Matt Goldsworthy, Lenny Muhlenkamp, Michael Brewster, Jeff Hopkins, Missy Elliott, James C. Phillips, Amy Schilchter, Chad Schlichter, Ilze Koch, Carrie Petro and Oakland Gaerke. Running for Democratic state convention delegate are Fred Bailey and James Phillips.